How My Heart Unfolded

30 May

Hi friends!  I’m Beth, and thank you for dropping by for my first blog.  Whew…was I nervous clicking ‘publish” and making this real! 

My ongoing desire is for women to meet here and chat. To exchange ideas. To be encouraged as they grow closer to our amazing God.  But for my first post, I would like to share how Hearts Unfold came to be…

Two years ago I started my first blog.  But it did not make it to print. Oh, I talked about it a lot.  But just could not follow through to make it happen.

Lots of excuses. Good ones, too. Told God every one over and over.

So many amazing women are blogging. Think they have it covered for You.

What in the world would I say that would interest anyone?

I can’t keep up with laundry and watering plants, much less a blog. Just too busy.

True statements but not quite the truth. You see, I followed some inspiring blogs.  And each one had a common thread.  The writers were real.  Honest.  Open. Women who allowed others to see them up close and personal. A concept as foreign to me as calculus (and if you know me you GET that!  Math and I broke up years ago).

The truth is I was scared.  Scared to let you in. Scared you might not like what you would see. But, most of all, scared to be real about my struggles and sin. This was nothing new-it was a lifelong battle for me. But I had a choice: did I want to stay closed and protected or allow God to change me?

I chose change.

And God has worked in my life.  He has used people and events to take the focus off my fears and onto His plans. But change was not easy and often got messy.  I wanted to run away from necessary pain. But God is loving and tender.  His compassions never failed (Lam 3:22,23).

Through those experiences I realized the beauty of a heart unfolded to God.  Being real. Even exposed.  Stepping out boldly, even when rejection is possible. Living with arms wide open to His plans.  And enjoying moments right in front of me.

It’s the beginning of a fresh journey in my life.   And I would love your company.  Every trip is better with girlfriends along for the ride!

Any ad appearing below this post is placed by the blog provider, not by Beth Harris.

8 Responses to “How My Heart Unfolded”

  1. worthydaughters May 30, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    I look forward to hearing what God whispers to your unfolded heart. Favorite quote of this first post: “He has used people and events to take the focus off my fears and onto His plans.” That’s some thought worthy stuff right there–will be munching on it today. ~Ava

  2. Stacey Paden May 30, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    Oh my friend! How inspiring and gifted you are! I look forward to meeting you often! Love and prayers!

  3. Sarah May 30, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

    Found your blog from a link on Ava’s profile. I’m excited to hear more things from you! Keep on keeping on and can’t wait to read more! 😀

  4. rhonda crain borutta May 30, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

    Hi saw this on facebook. my friend ava sturgeon posted your site. looking forward to sharing.

  5. Dorothy May 30, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

    Beth, so proud you have finally done it! Great first post. I can’t wait to follow along and unfold. Love you.

  6. Vivian May 30, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    Hi Beth, What a wonderful blog! Thank you for being willing to share your spiritual walk. I will look forward to reading each and every posting. You’re being added to my google reader so I’ll get each post as soon as you hit publish. 🙂 Vivian

  7. teresa May 31, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    Beth~the posts of encouragement should help you to realize~this is the right thing to do!!! Thank you for being an encouragement and blessing in my life~

  8. Alene Snodgrass (@AleneSnodgrass) June 4, 2012 at 12:28 am #

    Found you over at Goins Writer. So thankful you are blogging and sharing. I totally get the “scared” thing. I write about it often! Blessings on your journey.

    http://positivelyalene.com

Leave a Reply

