Captured by Wonder

5 Jun

Many, O LORD my God, are the wonders you have done. The things you planned for us no one can recount to you; were I to speak and tell of them, they would be too many to declare. ~ Psalm 40:5


When did God’s wonder first capture you?

Five-year-old Beth’s moment is crystal clear.  I sat enthralled as a Sunday School teacher wove the beautiful story of creation.  How God put the moon and stars in place. How He made birds and fish (my two pets!).  And how He breathed life into man.

Something about this story felt different than cartoons or Disney.  I was in awe.

Snuggled in my warm, quilted bed that night,  I thought about the Bible lesson.  And a big question came to mind.

If God made everything, then who made God?

Closing my eyes tightly, I concentrated hard to figure out God.  Once, twice…countless times I tried rewinding my thoughts far enough to get my answer. Frustrated, I fell asleep.

The next morning, while helping my grandmother make beds, I sprung my deep theological question on her.  She snapped the clean sheet in the air, laid it gently on the bed, smiled sweetly and said,

“No one created God.  He’s…GOD.” We can’t know all about Him. But His wonder is a good thing.  Makes us want to know Him more.”

Saturday afternoon I was desperate for God’s wonder. It’s been a dry, difficult three months for Jim and me.  Our marriage is strong, but trials have interrupted life. We are praying, hanging on to His promises. But I had allowed my relationship with the Lord to become crisis centered.  I was exhausted trying to figure out God.

I longed to be in His presence and marvel.  To be overwhelmed by Him.  To be amazed.

My God met me on Pensacola Beach.

I dropped to the warm sand in silence, soon reminded of the first time His wonder captured me.  The bright moon slowly rising over the Gulf.  Birds gliding gracefully above the water.  A school of fish, leaping in perfect formation through the waves.

And to my right, a dark-haired little girl ran awestruck toward the shore.  Was she seeing its beauty and power for the first time?

I’m thinking she was five.

God of wonders.  Breathing life back into my soul.

Any ad appearing below this post is placed by the blog provider, not by Beth Harris.

8 Responses to “Captured by Wonder”

  1. Tracy Tisdale (@tracytisdale) June 5, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    Beautiful!

    • Hearts Unfold June 14, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

      I only wish I had one of your beautiful beach pics to post with this.

  2. Jennifer June 7, 2012 at 2:11 am #

    So encouraging and reassuring! He is so much bigger than all! I’m so glad 🙂

    • Hearts Unfold June 14, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

      Thanks, Jennifer! He comes full circle with our lives. He is the God of completion!

  3. Tiffany Stuart (@TiffanyStuart) June 7, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    So glad you know the God of wonders. Let us always remember who He is.

  4. Hearts Unfold June 14, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    Amen, Tiffany!

  5. Stacey Paden June 14, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    Govered in goosebumps as I read this! Love you and Jim and continue to pray for you!

    • Hearts Unfold June 14, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

      Stacey Girl ~ YOU are inspiring in your faith walk. Never underestimate how God uses you. Love you much!

Leave a Reply

