There’s Power When Girlfriends Pray

18 Jun

This blog is for my beautiful friend.  Grateful she allows me to share her need.

“But there is a time to set down all the positivity and just simply ask your girlfriends for prayer.” ~ Lysa TerKeurst

My girlfriends don’t mess around where prayer is concerned.

We exchange requests for husbands, children, jobs, finances.  Intercessions come over quiet time with coffee, during morning walks, or while picking up spilled Cheerios under the kitchen table. No matter how busy the day, my girlfriends get it done.

And sometimes the request is urgent.  Drop everything urgent.

Last week one sweet friend received unexpected news.  The dreaded words each woman fears.

Breast cancer.

She’s the optimistic friend, full of hope and encouragement.  The calm one when everyone else freaks out.  The one at the top of your go-to list when you need prayer.

That’s our Carol Ann.  She’s everyone’s rock.  And now she’s counting on us.

My girlfriends take care of one another when we hurt.  They can fix a mean pot of cheese grits, a yummy pumpkin roll and chocolate anything.  Surprise you with a beautiful basket of Bath and Body Works treats.  Whisk you away to relax at the beach.  Or convince you something crazy like a six mile run will make you feel better.

But my girlfriends do something more powerful.  That which makes mountains move.

They pray.  Pray.  PRAY!

With confidence (1 John 5:14,).  With faith (Matthew 21:22). With trust (Phil. 4: 6,7).

And for God to be glorified (2 Corinthians 12:9,10).

They are God’s girls, a fabulous army of prayer warriors.  Manicured hands clasped.  Pedicured feet tucked under bent knees.  And sometimes mascara-streaked faces, evidence of compassionately cried tears for one of their own.

They have been here before.

When children had undiagnosed illnesses. When husbands died far too young.  And for hard requests, the kind we share with just a few girlfriends.  They stood in the gap and God heard.  Answered in ways which shocked doctors and restored relationships and softened hearts to accept Jesus.

They pray trusting the One from which the life-giving power comes.

My girlfriends are the friends of God.

We don’t know how long Carol Ann’s journey will be. Or what it is going to look like.  But through it all, we’ll be there.  And so will many other godly girlfriends.  ‘Cause she’s blessed with bunches of them.

Because we know the One who knows her.   Who calms the seas.  And the One who will hold her right hand through it all.

We’re praying.  With estrogen-fueled passion and Holy Spirit power.

And God’s hearing.

Any ad appearing below this post is placed by the blog provider, not by Beth Harris.

17 Responses to “There’s Power When Girlfriends Pray”

  1. Ginger Griffith June 18, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    Great message of encouragment, Beth! The army of prayer warriors is equipped and ready for battle! Commuted in prayer until we hear it’s gone and all clear! Love you, Carol Ann!

  2. Ginger Griffith June 18, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    *Not commuted….COMMITTED!!!

  3. Susan Comer June 18, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    Beautifully put. A reminder for anyone going through a storm!

  4. mammab (Jenny Bilbrey) June 18, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

    WOW! What a beautiful way to say words that no one wants to hear!

  5. Pamela (Cooley) Moreno June 18, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    Count me in that army…I have known Carol Ann all my life and know her strength, her tenacity for life and her commitment to God, family and friends. There is power through prayer. I am not close to Pensacola anymore, but I am putting on my “foul weather gear” from here and going to be there through this storm. Love you Carol Ann….

    (Thank you Beth for sharing this….)

  6. Michelle Jones Odom June 18, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

    I don’t know any of you ladies except having gone to high school with Carol Ann, but the beautiful words and feelings you expressed made me wish I was friends with each of you. Prayers for Carol Ann.

  7. chris June 18, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    This blessed my heart beyond words! I do not know you other women (only Carol Ann), but I am a fairly new member at Olive (one year now), and I have grown to love this very special woman as I work with her in the children’s ministry. She has been such a faithful prayer warrior and encourager to me as I have gone through a personal family “journey.” I can do no less for her! Thank you for posting this blog and sharing her story. Count me in!!!

  8. Lilian Fry June 18, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

    Private Lilian Fry reporting for duty! Count me in as prayer warrior in agreement with my sisters. By HIS stripes we ARE healed!! May the healing He has already provided for you be manisfested in your body in th Magestic matchless name of JESUS!

  9. Melissa Cust June 18, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    I’m all in! How I miss being at Olive but I am so thankful for the friends I made and the power of prayer. Praying for my sweet Sunday morning friend! I love you Carol Ann! xoxo

  10. Joyce Hendrix June 19, 2012 at 4:23 am #

    Count on me as I join with this army of ladies in praying for Carol Ann! I have known this beautiful young lady for many years and I know she has the strength and faith to fight this battle! Her smile lights up a room and she is loved by so many! The Great Physican will walk with her through this journery!

  11. Stacey Paden June 19, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Beautiful post! I do not know Carol Ann, but I can assure you, she has my prayers!

  12. Pam Harrod June 19, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    Count me in . . .I am praying,

  13. Michelle Dycus June 19, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    We all belong to an Army of Prayer Warriors!! Praying daily for Carol Ann and in my thoughts continually. Count me in! I am here because of prayer. He will move mountains!

  14. Brenda Roselli June 19, 2012 at 11:24 pm #

    I will be praying for Carol Ann.

  15. Laura Carroll Grover June 20, 2012 at 2:06 am #

    Carol Ann’s love for the Lord and others is making an eternal difference, and the many lives she has touched include mine and my daughters’. Praying daily for Carol Ann’s battle, knowing the God of peace shall be with her, He will tenderly comfort, and give her the strength to endure!

  16. Michelle Smith June 20, 2012 at 2:30 am #

    I am so grateful to be a part of this army of prayer warriors. Although she is decades younger than me, I have always looked up to Carol Ann. She is truly “the real thing”. Count on my prayers, Honey.

  17. Glenda Hancock (Ginger's mama) June 28, 2012 at 5:08 am #

    praying that healing will be swift and complete, and that His will is done!

Leave a Reply

