Sin Like Bamboo

2 Jul

Our yard looked beautiful.

After years of resodding and treating the soil with nutrients, my husband Jim finally had plush green grass.

Then the shoots appeared.

First they were sporadic. Jim would mow down growths or spray them with some Home Depot concoction.

Then the shoots invaded.

Dozens of sprouts popped up, overtaking the yard.  Jim noticed they were stronger than the earlier growths.  And none had its own root. Each was connected to one main source.

Our neighbor’s bamboo plant.

Once easily dismissed, it had become an out of control enemy.

Just like sin.

A thriving relationship with God requires cultivation and care.   And sin can’t just be casually hidden or treated lightly.

Sin always has a life source.  Rooted deep.  And likely to spread.

I had been struggling with a bamboo-like sin. Reality had hit hard.  A dream I wanted was not meant to be.  Jealousy grew.

Rather than quickly confessing, I indulged in self-pity.  Rather than thanking God and praising Him for knowing what was best, I begin to feel entitled.  I had served Him faithfully.  I deserved that dream!

My sin did not stay contained.  Resentment, apathy, and complaining sprouted.  Each threatening to choke my relationship with God.

The bamboo…inside and outside…had to be cut off at its source.

Ridding my heart and the yard of it had Biblical parallels:

Dig out and remove completely:  Our neighbor had to go deep and cut thoroughly to extract the plant.  Psalm 139:23, 24 states, “Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.  See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.”  When God revealed envy was the primary sin, my confession/repentance were essential to restoring a right relationship with Him.

Treat the invaded area to prevent regrowth: If just one part of the bamboo plant was left behind, it could regenerate. Philippians 4:8 states, “Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.”  This reminded me to keep my focus on the things of Christ.

I learned much through the bamboo battle. Allow God to root out my sin.  Deal with it quickly.  Don’t let it invade my life.

And want to love your neighbors as yourself?  Don’t plant bamboo!

Any ad appearing below this post is placed by the blog provider, not by Beth Harris.

5 Responses to “Sin Like Bamboo”

  1. Melanie Dorsey July 2, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

    Good application here!
    I do like bamboo – though maybe not growing in my yard either.

    • Hearts Unfold July 2, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

      Girl, it’s an evil! Our neighbor had just returned from living in Hawaii for three years and had no idea what it would grow like in FL. Thanks for the encouragement.

  2. Stacey July 2, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    hmmmm, He’s been dealing with me about idols . .. . . good word and a confirmation to keep seeking Him to see what He is trying to weed out.

    • Hearts Unfold July 2, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

      Stacey, I thought of your blog and “pulling weeds” while I was writing this one! You are always teaching me, friend.

  3. Brenda July 4, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    Excellent word Beth. Profound.

Leave a Reply

