3 Rights from Being Wrong

26 Sep

Fear of the Lord teaches wisdom; humility precedes honor. ~ Proverbs 15:33

“Well, there’s just not enough turnaround time to pull it off.”

Recently I expressed this (quite vocally, I might add) during a planning meeting.  A scheduling change meant an event I was responsible to organize would now have a very short set up time.  Extensive decorating and major flexibility for the volunteers would be required.

With just a few hours to make it happen, I doubted it could be done with excellence.

Event day came. To my happy surprise, what I thought would be stressful and chaotic ran smoothly.  Details came together, extra volunteers served, and it was a successful day of ministry.

Wow…had I been wrong.

Normally I am not a fan of missing the mark.  But God reminded me of three valuable truths I could take from the experience.

Choose God’s Wisdom Over My Opinion:  I was relying on my personal viewpoint and what I thought was best.  And, although I would like to think my way is always the right way (c’mon…who doesn’t?), decisions can stubbornly be made because of convenience and control. James 3:17 offers the best choice:

“But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, reasonable, full of mercy and good fruits, unwavering, without hypocrisy.”

Before voicing belief, I should ask God to fill me with His words and filter mine.

Confess My Misjudgment:  Wow…it’s hard to admit when I am wrong.  Fear and pride are co-conspirators, telling me people will lose respect or (gasp!) realize I am flawed.  Acknowledging errors in judgment actually develops trust, loyalty, and better communication.  Relationships and teamwork are strengthened by transparency.

Change Can Be a Positive:  Consistency and sticking to routines are important to me, but I can easily become complacent.  Change boosts creativity and forces me out of my comfort zone.  It is a catalyst to growth and adapting to better serve the body of Christ.

Although it’s not pleasant, being wrong can teach us much about ourselves.  And how we respond to those situations is essential as we are molded in God’s image.

Care to Share?
What have you learned from being wrong?

Any advertisement appearing below is by WordPress, not Beth Harris.

4 Responses to “3 Rights from Being Wrong”

  1. Brenda September 26, 2012 at 11:24 pm #

    Good word friend!

  2. Melanie September 26, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    I loved this Beth! God is sooo good. His yoke is always Easy.. learning how to get in that HOLY EASE and stay there myself. Blessings!

  3. Melissa Mason September 27, 2012 at 1:59 pm #

    I learned to think before I speak (most times) and that speaking in anger does more damage even if you are right. I’ve also began to figure out that even when I’m right, grace is still a great thing to give and receive. There are to many things to list…. 🙂

  4. Hearts Unfold September 28, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    Girls, I am constanly reminded of God’s work in my life. And something about where I am in life is freeing me to appreciate His chiseling and refining. Thanks for your comments. And Melissa ~ I love that line about grace! Exactly!

Leave a Reply

