God Will Still Be God

5 Nov

Tomorrow is the presidential election.  Like the majority of Americans, I have passionately followed polls and hung on to the candidates every word. And casting my vote is thrilling.  I arrive at my precinct when it opens just so I can wear the “I VOTED TODAY” sticker all day!

In these closing hours, though, I have been processing this thought:

Can I still trust and be thankful to God no matter who wins?

Scripture assures this attitude is not only possible, but essential.  God-centered trust and gratitude are not based on what I want, nor how God chooses to answer my prayers.  They are grounded in the faith that He:

Sovereignly knows all things (Romans 11:33).  God gives us the gift of free will to choose.  But He sees the whole picture, allowing events in His timing for His purpose. I can’t begin to wrap my mind around God’s sovereignty. But I know all He allows will bring glory to Him.

Asks me to trust Him more than man (Psalm 118:8). When I put my faith in a person, my dependence shifts to earthly satisfaction.  We are to support and pray for leaders, not hold them up as idols who are the answers to our problems. That place belongs only to God.

Always is at work (John 5:17).  No matter who is in the Oval Office, God will still be moving to accomplish His plans. Caring for our needs.  Calling us to be witnesses for Christ. And drawing us to a deeper, personal relationship with Him.

Holds my hope and future (Jeremiah 29:11).  I love our nation.  But I have great concern for her.  But I know…I KNOW, through good and bad, God is for me.  My future is in His hands.  This is a promise no politician can give or take away.

God desires my heart to be one of trust.  One which gives Him thanks and praise.  No matter who leads on earth.

One Response to “God Will Still Be God”

  1. Mia November 5, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

    Hi dear Beth
    I live in South Africa and have just asked my husband today when America is voting for a new president. Thanks for answering my question for he was not sure. I have been following your blog for a while and am always encouraged by your deep insight. I love the way Corrie Ten Boom suggested how we can pray for our governments: for those following our Lord, we should ask that our Pappa leads them, and for those not from His Kingdom, we should ask our Lord to control them! Thanks for reminding me to always pray for our governments and you will be in my prayers tomorrow when you all go to the voting stations.
    Blessings
    Mia (http://hisnlovingembrace.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

