Picture This: 5 Ideas for Using Photos in Your Prayer Time

13 Nov

Is keeping track of specific prayer needs a challenge.? Do your request lists disappear into piles of paper, get buried under more recent emails, or end up stuffed in your Bible between Amos and Obadiah?  Are your intentions good but follow through not as much?

I can raise my hand to all of the above.

But recently, while flipping through my cell phone photos, a fresh idea came to mind…

Why not use pictures as a means to praise God and remember to pray for others?

So today I want to share a few ways I am learning to incorporate photos into my prayer time.

1)  Choose a time:  Saturday morning?  Once a month before you go to bed? Or after specific events? It’s not about making it overly structured, but intentional.  It can also be a great teaching tool for your children.  Include them and pray together!

2)  Work with what works for you:  Smartphone, laptop, Facebook, Instagram, Shutterfly ~ so many great options are available.  But if you choose social media resist the urge to check status updates until you’re done!

3)  Consider praising/praying a topic:  Grouping according to friends, family, nature, etc. keeps me from being overwhelmed.  And looking up a verse for the album helps me recall scripture.

For example, I used Psalm 36:9 (“in your light we have light”) for an album of sunrise shots. Now when I thank God for a beautiful morning, he brings this verse to mind.

4)  Email/text photos to friends and family and include praise and prayer for them

Laurie, Bobbie, and I have been great friends for years. We have prayed many prayers for one another.  When I see this picture I thank God for these girls, asking him to always work in and through their lives (Phil. 1:3, 6). Sending a visual reminder with your prayer can make a powerful impact.

5)  Take “between God and me” pictures:  Last week I opened a Bible study book and look what fell out!  

God was showing his provision during a tough time. So I took a quick pic of praise for reminding me He’s got this!

I would love to hear your ideas! How could you use photos to encourage and pray for others?

Enjoy today!  

Beth

Any advertisement appearing below is by WordPress, not Beth Harris.

6 Responses to “Picture This: 5 Ideas for Using Photos in Your Prayer Time”

  1. Judee Smith November 13, 2012 at 1:35 am #

    Thanks so much for this great idea! I am going to start using the camera roll on my phone to pray for family and friends, as well as a reminder to thank Him for all He means to me. I am enjoying your blog – very encouraging to me. Thanks for being willing to share your heart!

    • Hearts Unfold November 13, 2012 at 2:15 am #

      Judee! Appreciate your encouragement so much! I will be looking forward to hearing how God works through these praises and prayers.

  2. Stacey November 14, 2012 at 1:30 am #

    Love love love this! Thank you!

    • Hearts Unfold November 14, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

      Stacey-you have so many wonderful pictures to do this. Please let me know what God shows you, friend. LY!

  3. Laura Carroll Grover November 14, 2012 at 2:37 am #

    I need to delete a few of those 204 pics and definitely pray over the rest!

Leave a Reply

