Light in Present Darkness

15 Dec

weather-1

I prefer to live in the bright, shiny places of God.  Beautiful sunsets. Encouraging friends. Blessings and laughter.  The warm, comfortable spots.

But I couldn’t today. I’ve wrestled with the horrific school shooting in Connecticut. Trying to process an unbelievably violent act that shook me to my core. Grieving deeply for people I had never met.

Why did God allow this tragedy to happen? 

Truth is, I don’t know. But it cannot be sanitized and blamed on possible contributing factors. Was the shooter mentally ill?  Were drugs or alcohol involved?  Did he play violent video games?  Perhaps. But none would be the cause.  They would be results.  Stemming from something stronger than behavior we can control.

We must call it. This is a broken, sin-cursed world.  And the act was satanic.

Pure evil.

I remember when I was a little girl, my dad protected me from a dangerous snake. It hissed and threatened to strike, but with one powerful ax swing he cut off the head. Its body thrashed for what seemed like forever.  I ran crying, fearful it would come back to life.  My father put his arms around me, explaining it was a violent response to being killed.  It could never threaten me again.

Genesis 3:14,15 recounts the root of spiritual warfare.  God cursed the serpent for introducing sin to his creation. But he had the redemptive plan already in place.  Christ the Messiah would come to break through the darkness of sin separating us from God. Jesus was born to die. To strike the head of the evil one with one fatal blow:  his atoning death on the cross.

It is why, in the blackest of days, we have hope.  Hope revealed through Jesus.  Hope which cannot be exchanged.  Wrapped in forgiveness of sin.  Topped with the bow of eternal life with God.

Make no mistake: the massacre of those precious, defenseless children was a wicked thrashing by Satan. Yes, he still flails about violently to cause confusion, doubt, and destruction.  But he is defeated. His destiny sealed.

We still do battle on this earth.  But Jesus has won the eternal war.

So, in a time of many questions, I can rest knowing God has already answered.

I long for days of no bad news. No sorrow or loss. Days of living in the bright, shiny presence of God. In the warmth and comfort of Heaven.

Jesus, I long for You.

Please come quickly.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any ad below is provided by WordPress, not Beth Harris.

3 Responses to “Light in Present Darkness”

  1. robakers December 16, 2012 at 1:38 am #

    Thank you for your comments. Several bloggers are encouraging others to send cards and letters to the school. Here is the address:

    The school’s address is:
    Sandy Hook Elementary School
    12 Dickenson Drive
    Newtown, CT 06482

    God Bless.

  2. Mrsttolive December 16, 2012 at 4:02 am #

    Thanks, Beth–very good word. Liz

  3. Stacey December 18, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    Good word!

Leave a Reply

