What Costs the Least Means the Most

21 Dec

Recently I asked my Facebook friends to share about their favorite Christmas gifts. Ones that cost little, were handmade, or hold special fun memories. And today I am so excited to share those with you!

So, pour a cup of coffee or tea, snuggle up nice and warm, and enjoy. 

Oh, and you might want to grab some Kleenex :).

100_8635This ornament represents a memory of my great grandmother Hensel. Every Christmas morning the whole family (35+ people) crammed into her small house for hot dogs and cookies. She passed away at the age of 95 in Dec. 1995 – the last time the whole family got together was her funeral. Years later, my Uncle Joe found this ornament at a Cracker Barrel and bought one for each of us. She used to have these old ornaments – the heat from the lights spin the thing inside around. She was Hungarian and with that accent she’d say “I love yous all” (yes,”yous”).
~ Sam Faller 

My husband has a December birthday (me, too!) When he was born as the youngest of five, someone gave him an 8 foot tall Christmas tree that not only spins but plays music:).  It is (ahem) not quite antique, but it’s getting there!” ~ Elizabeth Elliott

elizabethelliotttree

photoMy grandpa moved to heaven in June. This year (at our family Christmas we do at Thanksgiving) my grandma gave each grandchild (& great grandkids) one of his Bibles. Mine has some of his writing and shows notes from sermons. My little girl got one of his little new testaments and there is some handwriting in the back of it. She loves it and carried it to church with her yesterday. My little boy is only 7 months old, so he doesn’t know anything about it yet. I already treasure this gift and will for years to come.~ Marisa Jayne Hock

photo

“Last Christmas my boys started planning late. They wanted to buy me a head warmer since I was running in the winter. They were short on cash so they made me one in my favorite color.  It is one of the best gifts I have ever received.” ~ Tamika Wyrick

When I was growing up, each year my grandmother hand made felt and beaded ornaments for all her grandchildren. While I did not appreciate it as a child, I sure appreciate her gifts of love now!
~ Sharon Reynolds

566028_4960515700066_141798579_n

 

photo

“How I cherish ornaments! My collection includes old fragile glass that were my dad’s and handmade ornaments from my sisters (gifts to my parents) that I received when they died. When we were little, my bro and I hand painted (by number) some wood ornaments (now usually hidden in the middle/back/bottom). There are many more on my eclectic tree. The best were the ones my sweet boys made me…but alas, those now have a place on their trees. I gave them back when they married.” ~ Bobbie Leathers

photo

My brother Marshall had to bring a butter lid to kindergarten to paste Christmas pics on and make an ornament. His teacher collected butter lids from kids as they came in, then on “the day” redistributed butter lids–one to a child. When he asked for the specific lid he brought from home, his teacher said ‘It doesn’t matter which lid you get as long as everyone gets one.’ His kindergarten response? ‘Yes, but what will the family think?’ Years later he wrote a college essay about the disappearing ornament and how every year it got placed further and further toward the back of the tree, lost in obscurity. When my parents read the essay, the ornament took its new place, front and center, on the tree and it has been there ever since. I think that is going on 20 years or so!” ~Leah Taylor

We have the most beautiful ornament of a children’s book. It’s hand-blown glass painted and signed by the artist. Steve and I got it while on an Alaskan vacation. We just happened to wander into a store and the artist was there signing books and ornaments. I collect children’s books and we were planning to start a family, so it was one magical and unexpected moment, so we went with it. She wrote, ‘You will be great parents!’ and handed it to us with a wink. That beautiful ornament sits in a box and never hangs on the tree! I’m too scared it will break!  Lots of symbolism there- and believe me I ponder those thoughts every year… then put it back up. The first year we hang the ornament will be a bittersweet because it will mean one thing for sure. The kids will be old enough not too break it!” ~ Amanda Nissimamandanissamornament

 

photo“The doctor told Papa Bare (my father-in-law) it was time to stop woodworking.  So he bought a long arm quilting machine. He made me (who loves brightness) this COLORFUL quilt for Christmas. Whenever I wrap up in it, I think how confident and brave he was to launch and learn at 76 years young!” ~ Dorothy Bare

 

 

Had this since I was about 3rd grade or earlier. We used to think it was ugly because mom replaced our star with her. Now it’s favored and treasured. Cheap paper angel but love it.” ~ Melissa Mason

photo

“For Christmas one year, my daughter cut up an old quilt that my great-grandmother had made (and was too fragile to still be used) and made throw pillows for my mother, all three of my children, and me –so we’d each have a small piece of my great-grandmother’s handiwork.  This picture is part of the quilt the girls had framed. It’s a great treasure to me!” ~ Bonny Johnsphoto

 

The second Christmas I’d married into a ready-made family, Blake’s teacher sent me a note along with the student-made decoration her class had made. ‘Blake insisted on creating two, one for his mom and one for his stepmom. I’ve never had a child ask this. You are special to him.’ Thank you, Mrs. Duncan, for easing a young, insecure stepmom’s mind.” ~ Ava Sturgeon

“I have the ceramic Christmas tree our Mamaw made years and years ago. I love that tree simply because she made it.” ~ Kim Stennett

Kim is my cousin.  And I clearly remember the little tree’s bright, multicolored lights and shiny glass. Last week Kim emailed me, saying she would like to give me this treasured family heirloom.

That email was a gift itself (I love you, Kim!).

Merry Christmas, friends! I am praying for you this season as we celebrate the gift of eternal life made possible through Jesus Christ.

“…and they will call him Immanuel, which means
‘God is WITH us.’”
Matthew 1:21b

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Any ad appearing below is sponsored by WordPress, not Beth Harris.

 
Leave a Reply

