The Beauty In Broken Roses

14 Feb

Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. ~ 1 Corinthians 13:7

Rose On Wood BW
I was crazy about Jim and was excited about our first Valentines’ Day. In my mind it was going to be chocolates and hearts and cards and kisses. Scenes right out of a chick-flick.

My third grade class had dismissed for recess when my assistant brought “it” to my room. She looked sad, searching for words to make me feel better.

“The florist delivered these for you. I can’t believe they didn’t do a better job.”

Somewhere between the floral shop and arriving in my classroom, the flowers were damaged. The beautiful red roses were broken, barely hanging on at the top of the stems. My heart sunk in disappointment.  Embarrassed, I hid the flowers behind my desk.

At dinner, Jim asked how I like the roses. I burst into a flood of tears. Jim hugged me tightly, promising to make this right and a more beautiful arrangement would come tomorrow. We talked through the disappointment and he assured me of his love.

I knew Jim would never send damaged flowers to me, so why did I hurt to my core?

Because he didn’t know I was like those roses, too.

How can I tell him I am not whole? Broken and barely hanging on? Would he be embarrassed?  Hide me away and move on with his life?

I had asked God the same questions countless times before.  I knew He loved me, but I just couldn’t share the shame. The hurt.  Wounds that rooted deep. Because if I said it out loud, it became real.  Would he still see beauty in me?

Of course, God already knew.  His Son, the Rose of Sharon, died for those hurts long before I was born.  He gave Himself, to be broken for my sins, so I might have life.

And bloom.

As I looked at Jim that evening, somehow I knew, when the time was right, he would still love me in spite of the ugly.

Because that is what a man after God’s own heart does. Loves like the One in Whose image he is created.

With eyes seeing not who you were, but Whose you are.

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any ad appearing below is from WordPress, not Beth Harris (Hearts Unfold).

5 Responses to “The Beauty In Broken Roses”

  1. Denita Williams February 14, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

    Happy Valentine’s Day! Thanks for sharing. Thanks for being my friend – you are beautiful, both inside and out. Have a Great Day!

  2. Hearts Unfold February 14, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

    I love you Denita ~ God has given me a great gift of friendship with you!

  3. Melissa Mason (@winsomsouls) February 15, 2013 at 1:19 am #

    Love this Beth and love you.

    • Hearts Unfold February 15, 2013 at 2:11 am #

      I love you bunches back! Thank you Melissa for being a beautiful encourager!

  4. Emily February 15, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

    Thank you so much for writting this. To be honest this hurt to read because I was wounded long ago and it still feels fresh. I betrayed God over my own selfish desires and had fallen into this ugly sin. I was hurt and alone, or so i thought before God found me in my brokeness and made my one with His Son Jesus. I know God loves and has forgiven me of all my sin and failor.. but sometimes its just too hard to look into His face, i feel ashamed and ugly and ambaressed. He reminds me day by day that He loves me and wants me. So in reading this letter i’ve felt that love again. That forgiveness. Thank you so much for posting and for not giving up. We all need eachother. God bless you, my sister in Christ. I’m praying for you also.

Leave a Reply

