What a True Friend Won’t Do

5 Mar

How’s your week so far?  Crazy busy I am sure.  Know with the dozens of things you are juggling, I am happy you stopped by Hearts Unfold. Today’s prayer for you is Ephesians 3:20 ~ look to the One who can do above all we ask or think. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

womenencouragingwomen

Recently a blog post by motivational speaker Andy Andrews challenged me. He often asks people what is their definition of a true friend. The most common answer?

“A true friend is someone who accepts me as I am.”

Andy takes it a step further. True friends who love us and want the best for our lives don’t stop there. They do something more.

A true friend is someone who won’t let you stay that way.

Over the past few years my girlfriends have refused to let me settle for less than God created me to be. These women have kicked me out of my comfort zones. Pushed me to be stronger. All with Holy Spirit finesse and a dash of Southern girl determination.

Thank you to my friend…

…who encouraged me to mentor.  God has brought amazing young women into my life. There is much they are teaching me.

…who was honest, telling me how I hurt her feelings.  Those words helped me to be more sensitive and to watch my mouth.

…who said I should update my hairstyle and let my bangs grow.  Oh, you forgot to mention how my big, furrowed forehead would stick out. I forgive you.

…who told me to get over “it” and not let Satan steal another minute of my life.  I owe you Starbucks forever.

…who talked me into running two half marathons. Sorry I broke up with you at mile #10, but that was the heat talking.  We’re good now.

…who told me to stop obsessing about the house and enjoy life.  A mountain of laundry is now on my living room floor. Four days and counting. I’m not quite sure this pushes me to be better, but let’s go with it.

 …who thought skydiving might cure my fear of flying. Actually, we’ve just talked about doing this. But if I ever do, it will be with you! Someday. Maybe. Thanks for asking.

…who called me out about ______________ (this could be many friends, many times).  Ouch. But wounds of a friend can be trusted (Proverbs 27:6).

…who saw the tiniest bit of writing ability in me.  I’ve learned to open up, be transparent, real. Examine motives. Accept criticism. Take chances.

And thank you to the greatest Friend. Who accepts me as I am, but loves me enough to not let me stay that way. Who pursues me when I run away. Whispers “less of you, more of me”. Will not let me get away with stuff. Because you love me bigger and tighter than I can comprehend.

Thank you, Jesus.

To read Andy’s post A True Friend click here.

Care to Share? How has a friend made you better? Would love to hear your comments!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any advertisement below is by WordPress, not Hearts Unfold (Beth Harris).

9 Responses to “What a True Friend Won’t Do”

  1. Janice Cline March 5, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

    Beth, thank you for shaing this. Proper friends, like this, are not commonly found. You are so blessed. And I sure wish I was the one that you owe Starbucks forever. The laundry mountaing exists in our home two. What can be said? 🙂

    • Janice Cline March 5, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

      That should have said “The laundry mountain exists in our home too.” Sorry.

      • Hearts Unfold March 5, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

        Janice, there is going to be a day I get you that Starbucks! Your life is such an inspiration. I mean, really, girl! You are a walking Fruit of the Spirit! When I read your posts on Caring Bridge, I want to be a softer, gentler version of me. Truth. Love you…

  2. Pam Hinote March 5, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    Enjoyed your blog post today…Godly friends are some of God’s greatest blessings!
    Love that you used a verse from Eph 3.
    God had impressed me to text Eph 3:16-20 to my kids yesterday!

    • Hearts Unfold March 5, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

      Wow Pam! I love when God weaves a day together and confirms verses and direction. That is awesome! Oh, and any time Mela wants to let me to take her place and babysit Kathryn, I am in!

  3. Liz Meyer March 6, 2013 at 1:28 am #

    Hey, have I told you I love you lately???? Well I do:)

    • Hearts Unfold March 6, 2013 at 2:57 am #

      Girl!!! I love you too! Seeing this post made my day!

  4. mldycus March 6, 2013 at 4:31 am #

    Love your blog today. Your words encourage me to be ME! Thanks Beth-you inspire me.

    • Hearts Unfold March 6, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

      Talk about inspiring, my friend. YOU are that! Can’t wait to share you with my readers ~ blog featuring you is almost ready to go. Love you!

Leave a Reply

