Why I Run

18 Apr

“When I run, I feel God’s pleasure.”
Olympic champion Eric Liddell (Chariots of Fire)

Photo (43)

It’s not because I’m fast.  My turtle-like pace makes other runners look like lightning in Asics.

It’s not because I’m losing weight.  I have gained a few pounds since I started running. Muscle mass?  Yeah, that sounds good.

It’s not because I like getting up early. It’s a mind-over-mattress battle. Every. Single. Time.

It’s not because I will win any races. I mean, have you SEEN any of my race times? Or worse, pictures as I’m crossing the finish line? #didijustblackout #whatsmynameagain

It’s not because I spend quality time with my awesome runner hubby. Sadly, no. We break up at least once each time he does a sympathy run with me.  I love him, but it feels like gym class. 🙂

It’s not because I breathe easily. Once I begged my doctor for an inhaler. Somehow it came across like I wanted performance enhancement drugs. I really should have practiced that speech more. Or demonstrated that coughing-up-a-lung hack I get about mile three. Lovely.

So why do I run? Because of what God has shown me about life, relationships and his purpose.

The first steps are always the hardest.

Days are best lived as a participant, not an observer.

God speaks through his creation. In the quiet of sunrises and sunsets, at the beach or on a trail, sunshine and rain, he says volumes during those prayer chats. And there are no distractions to keep me from listening.

Beautiful friendships are born of blood, sweat, and tears.

It’s more fun to laugh at myself than taking it all too seriously.

Work and rest are partners. Both are important for life’s long runs.

Muscles of humility, dependence, and faith are developed. The conditioning is painful, but I am stronger for it.

Self-discipline, dedication, hard work and focus are essential to make dreams into realities.

Every breath is a gift from God. Be thankful for each one.

When I’m in pain, exhausted, and stumble along the path, God gives me power to not quit. To look ahead and keep moving forward.

Because I want to fight the good fight.

Finish the course.

Keep the faith (2 Timothy 4:7).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any ad appearing below is from WordPress, not Hearts Unfold (Beth Harris).

One Response to “Why I Run”

  1. Laura Carroll Grover April 19, 2013 at 1:17 am #

    Yaa! I love this! I’m so glad you created a runner-girl out of me. Grateful for those sunrise prayer chats with our Lord, and grateful for you!

Leave a Reply

