Breaking Up With My Skinny Jeans Dream

6 Jun

You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you.
Song of Solomon 4:7

Skinny Jeans, we need to talk.

skinnyjeans2

I have fantasized for awhile that we could work this out. But we really never were going to be right for one another.

I’m over you. This time for real.

Remember the day we met?  I was thrilled to find you in a super cute and age appropriate style. I just had to have you! And for a little while (probably like 17 seconds), we got along okay.

Things fell apart when I started to measure my worth by you. That obsession drove me to do good things with wrong motives. Could I lose enough weight to make you comfortable? If I exercised 30 more minutes, could we please get back together? I was desperate to be the girl you used to know. But I could never become who you needed me to be.

Not good. Not good at all.

Here’s the truth, Skinny Jeans.

It’s not you. It’s me.

Last week while I was bummed over you for the hundredth time, God spoke. Said it was time to let you go.

Longing for you made me feel bad about how He created me.

Created and attached His very image to me.

And I had made you an idol.  Those occasional times I was under the illusion you fit (meaning I could suck in tight, zip quickly, and go hours without breathing), I was proud and vain. When you didn’t, I was angry and jealous.

We’ve grown apart, but it’s really okay.  Because I want to see myself not through stylish denim, but through Truth.

With a face that radiates the presence of God (Psalm 34:5).
And lips that praise Him and encourage others (Ephesians 5:19-20).
And eyes which stayed fixed on my Creator (Hebrews 12:2).

There are lots of great women who are a perfect fit for you.  But I must say goodbye, Skinny Jeans. I am determined to be confident and God-strong. I will work out and be healthy, but for the right reasons.  I need to be balanced. And to be able to say “for I have learned to be content in whatever (body) I am in.” (Yeah, that’s Philippians 4:11 slightly out of context. But God knows where I am going with it.)

Because His Spirit lives in beautiful temples of all shapes and sizes.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Any ad appearing below is by WordPress, not Hearts Unfold (Beth Harris).

One Response to “Breaking Up With My Skinny Jeans Dream”

  1. Kara June 9, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

    Awesome my friend!

Leave a Reply

